Peptide Science

Peptides for Loose Skin After Weight Loss: What They Can't Fix

Start with our pillar guide: Best Peptides for Skin: Peptide Ingredients in Skincare Ranked by Evidence, or browse all Peptide Science articles.

No study shows that peptides for loose skin work, whether you apply them or inject them. No trial has tested a peptide for laxity after weight loss or GLP-1 medications. Injected BPC-157 and GHK-Cu have no human skin trials and aren't FDA-approved. Devices give partial lifts, and true excess skin needs surgery. Evidence: none in humans for loose skin; devices for mild laxity: Limited.

Key takeaways

  • No trial has tested any topical or injected peptide for laxity after weight loss. The only post-weight-loss peptide study we found was a 7-person pilot of a multi-ingredient serum, and it measured skin quality, not laxity.
  • A 2026 meta-analysis of 19 randomized trials found that peptide effects on skin elasticity were "inconsistent."
  • Devices, fillers and surgery have more data for loose skin than any peptide; see loose skin after weight loss.
  • Injected BPC-157 and injectable GHK-Cu are not FDA-approved for any use and have no human skin trials.
  • Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication for skincare reasons. Talk to your prescriber.

If you've lost a lot of weight, with or without a GLP-1 medication such as semaglutide or tirzepatide, you've probably seen peptides for loose skin sold as a fix, from serums to injectable "stacks." This guide covers the loose-skin problem itself and the places where peptides fall short. For how individual peptides are supposed to work, see our guide to peptide ingredients.

Why does skin get loose after weight loss or GLP-1 medications?

Loose skin after weight loss is usually 2 problems at once: stretched skin and lost fat and soft tissue underneath. A peptide doesn't shrink extra skin or replace lost volume. For causes, who gets it and what happens over time, see our hub on loose skin after weight loss; for the face and neck, see fixing Ozempic face and Ozempic neck.

Can peptides for loose skin actually tighten it?

No published trial shows that they can. Peptides for loose skin have never been tested in people with real laxity after weight loss, and even the general firmness data for peptides are weak.

The best pooled evidence comes from a 2026 systematic review and meta-analysis of 19 randomized trials with 1,341 participants. It covered both oral and topical peptides. Hydration and brightness improved, and wrinkles improved modestly, with the effect "largely driven by oral polypeptides." But "effects on elasticity and density were inconsistent" (Nukaly et al., 2026; authors declared no conflicts). Evidence for peptide firmness: Limited at best.

Other details make the topical case weaker still:

  • The best-known Matrixyl trial measured wrinkles, not firmness. Matrixyl is palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 (INCI name, the standardized ingredient name on labels). The 12-week split-face trial had 93 participants, was funded by Procter & Gamble, and reported no firmness or elasticity endpoint in its abstract (Robinson et al., 2005).
  • Plain cream helps too. In a 2-month double-blind neck trial of 31 people, both the peptide serum and the vehicle (the same base without actives) improved wrinkles and laxity. The abstract reports no difference between the groups on laxity (Boen et al., 2020; funding not reported in the abstract).
  • GHK-Cu may not get deep enough. GHK-Cu (INCI: copper tripeptide-1) has strong cell data. A 2025 review still called the published information on its skin permeability and effectiveness "insufficient" (Mortazavi et al., 2025). A 2026 systematic review described the human trials as small and mostly testing face creams (Najafi et al., 2026).
  • The only post-weight-loss study is tiny. It was a 7-person split-face pilot of a multi-ingredient retinoid and peptide serum made by Aforé, and it measured skin quality, not laxity (Semersky et al., 2025; funding not reported in the abstract). Evidence: Early / preliminary.

We compare the individual ingredients in our evidence review of peptides for skin tightening. In short, wrinkle data beat firmness data for every ingredient, and none of it was gathered in people with significant sagging.

Do collagen supplements help loose skin?

Probably not in a way you'd notice on loose skin. A 2025 meta-analysis of 23 randomized trials with 1,474 people found that oral collagen improved elasticity overall. Trials without industry funding, though, showed no effect on any outcome (Myung & Park, 2025). Evidence: Limited, industry-dependent. More detail is in our collagen supplements guide.

How do devices, fillers and surgery compare with peptides for loose skin?

Devices give partial, measurable improvement for mild laxity, fillers and biostimulators replace volume, and surgery is the only option that removes excess skin. Peptides for loose skin have no comparable data. We compare these options in loose skin after weight loss and cover facial injectables in dermal fillers for Ozempic face.

Are injected peptides like BPC-157 or GHK-Cu an option for loose skin?

Not on current evidence. We found no human trial of injected BPC-157 or injected GHK-Cu for skin laxity, firmness or wrinkles. ClinicalTrials.gov lists no trial of any peptide with skin laxity as its primary outcome.

A recurring pattern in weight-loss and biohacking communities: people who have lost 50–100+ lb ask whether injecting GHK-Cu will prevent or fix loose skin on the stomach and arms. Replies are split. Some describe smoother or thicker-feeling skin, some notice nothing after several cycles, and several who lost around 100 lb say they still needed surgery. Users also describe injection-site reactions, nausea and a temporary phase of looking worse, and some combine 4-peptide blends. These are anecdotes, and no study covers them.

Here is what the research does show:

  • BPC-157 is almost entirely an animal compound. A 2025 systematic review found 36 BPC-157 studies, of which 35 were preclinical. The 1 clinical study was a retrospective report in which 7 of 12 knee-pain patients reported relief. "No clinical safety data were found" (Vasireddi et al., 2025). Evidence: Lab / animal only for skin.
  • The human safety data cover 2 people. An IV BPC-157 safety pilot at a private Florida clinic enrolled 2 people and found no measured lab changes (Lee et al., 2025). Evidence: Early / preliminary.
  • Dosing is unknown. A 2026 review found injectable peptides, including BPC-157, TB-500 and GHK-Cu, largely unvalidated in humans. Dosing, frequency and duration are "unknown," and there are no clinical data for GHK-Cu in musculoskeletal use (Mayfield et al., 2026).
  • Gray-market risks. Reviewers warn of contamination, inaccurate dosing and theoretical concerns about blood-vessel growth and cancer, though these are not proven harms (Mendias et al., 2026; Moiz et al., 2026).

The BPC-157 trials that are registered study hamstring strain (NCT07437547, n=120) and recovery after rotator-cuff surgery (NCT07803250, n=30), not skin.

What is the FDA status of injected peptides as of October 2026?

BPC-157 and injectable GHK-Cu are not FDA-approved for any use. Neither appears on FDA's list of substances with "significant safety risks," but that doesn't mean FDA has approved or cleared them.

FDA keeps a list of bulk drug substances nominated for compounding under section 503A, updated May 14, 2026. Section 503A covers pharmacies that compound drugs for individual prescriptions. On that list, Category 2 covers substances with "significant safety risks," and it now contains 6 substances. As of FDA's May 14, 2026 list, neither BPC-157 nor GHK-Cu appears in Category 2.

GHK-Cu "(except for injectable routes of administration)" is in Category 1, which means it is under evaluation. FDA's note says it was removed on April 22, 2026 after nominations were withdrawn. It was added back after a nominator clarified on May 5, 2026 that it had withdrawn only the injectable route. FDA intends to consult its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee before the end of February 2027. Injectable GHK-Cu is not on any category list. FDA's 503A bulks page also says it won't categorize substances nominated on or after January 7, 2025.

GHK-Cu in creams and serums is sold as a cosmetic ingredient. This area changes quickly, so check FDA's current list before relying on this summary.

What should you do about loose skin while on a GLP-1?

Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication for skincare reasons. Raise loose skin with your prescriber and see a board-certified dermatologist or plastic surgeon; our loose skin after weight loss hub covers the options to ask about.

Where the evidence stops

  • No trial has tested any peptide, topical or injected, for laxity after weight loss or GLP-1 use. The closest is a 7-person pilot that measured skin quality (Semersky et al., 2025).
  • We found no peptide trial at all on body skin.
  • No study compares a peptide product with a device or surgery, so any percentage comparison would be invented.
  • Device data are mostly small, often device-linked, and weaker at higher BMI.
  • Nobody knows how loose skin changes over time after GLP-1 weight loss, or the best timing for treatment.

FAQ

Can injecting GHK-Cu prevent loose skin while I lose weight?

No evidence shows it can. We found no human trial of injected GHK-Cu for skin, and reviewers describe its dosing as unknown (Mayfield et al., 2026). Injectable GHK-Cu isn't FDA-approved and isn't on FDA's compounding category lists.

Should I slow down or stop my GLP-1 to avoid loose skin?

No. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication for skincare reasons. Bring up loose skin with your prescriber, who can weigh it against the reasons you're taking the medication.

Is BPC-157 FDA-approved for skin?

No. BPC-157 isn't FDA-approved for any use, and 35 of the 36 studies in a 2025 systematic review were preclinical (Vasireddi et al., 2025). Its absence from FDA's Category 2 list as of May 14, 2026 is not an approval.

Can a copper peptide cream tighten loose skin?

No study shows it. Topical GHK-Cu has strong lab data but almost no indexed clinical trials, and none in people with loose skin after weight loss (Mortazavi et al., 2025).

References

  1. Nukaly et al. Front Med. 2026. Systematic review and meta-analysis, 19 RCTs, 1,341 participants. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41924746/
  2. Robinson et al. 2005. Split-face RCT, n=93, 12 weeks, Procter & Gamble. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18492182/
  3. Boen et al. J Clin Aesthet Dermatol. 2020. Double-blind RCT, n=31, 2 months. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33282096/
  4. Mortazavi et al. 2025. Review of GHK/GHK-Cu. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39963574/
  5. Najafi et al. 2026. Systematic review of GHK/GHK-Cu. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42787770/
  6. Semersky et al. 2025. Split-face pilot, n=7. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40401118/
  7. Myung & Park. 2025. Meta-analysis, 23 RCTs, 1,474 people. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40324552/
  8. Vasireddi et al. HSS J. 2025. Systematic review, 36 studies. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40756949/
  9. Lee et al. Altern Ther Health Med. 2025. Safety pilot, n=2. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40131143/
  10. Mayfield et al. Am J Sports Med. 2026. Review. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41476424/
  11. Mendias et al. Sports Med. 2026. Review. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41966639/
  12. Moiz et al. Mo Med. 2026. Review. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42757290/
  13. US Food and Drug Administration. Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A (updated May 14, 2026). https://www.fda.gov/media/94155/download
  14. US Food and Drug Administration. Bulk Drug Substances Used in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/bulk-drug-substances-used-compounding-under-section-503a-fdc-act

Disclosure: This article is for general information and is not medical advice. It contains no affiliate links. Talk to a qualified clinician before starting any treatment, and never stop or change a prescribed medication, including a GLP-1, without your prescriber. Regulatory information is current as of October 2026.

For educational purposes only; not medical advice. See our disclaimer and research method.